Police protection is provided through the RCMP under the agreement between the Federal Government and the provincial Department of Public Safety. Policing services for Hanwell are primarily the responsibility of District 2 in Oromocto and J Division in Fredericton. District 2 covers an area approximately the size of PEI and includes Gagetown, Minto, Stanley, Keswick, MacAdam, etc. Please see the map below.

The Hanwell area is served primarily through the Keswick Office (Oromocto Rural North) with support from all other units when required. Members are paying particular attention to traffic safety and off-road vehicle use.

Every month the RCMP prepares a report for the monthly Council meeting which we are now posting on the web site. You can find them in the Documents section on this site.

If you have any questions about your policing services please contact the RCMP District 2 at 357-4300 or the Keswick office at 452-3754. There is also the toll free number 1-888-506-7267 (English) or 1-888-506-1472 (French) for non- urgent inquiries.

pdfRCMP District 2 Map

Non-emergency number 357-4300

In an emergency – Call  9-1-1

Hanwell Municipal Office


5 – 1757 Route 640
Hanwell, New Brunswick
E3C 2B9
Tel: 506-460-1177

Email: clerk@hanwell.nb.ca 

Office Hours

Monday to Thursday 9 a.m.–12 noon, 1 p.m.–4 p.m.


Join Us on Facebook